The Croatian Science Foundation is governed by the Board consisted of the President of the Board and 6 members appointed by the Croatian Parliament based on the recommendations received from the Croatian Government.

The candidates for the Board are determined by the Croatian Government from the pool of excellent researchers, taking into account the equal representation of all scientific fields. 

Based on the public Call for recommendations, the candidates are proposed by the public research institutes, Rector's Conference, Senates of the universities, Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Croatian Chamber of Economy, associations of employers, National Council for Science, researchers and members of the Croatian academy of Sceinces and arts.
By the majority of votes, the members of the Board elect, among themselves, the President and the Vice President of the Board.

The Board

Professor Dario Vretenar, PhD – President of the Board
Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb
Professor Dean Ajduković, PhD – Vice President of the Board
Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities, University of Zagreb
Professor Dragan Poljak, PhD – Board member
Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture, University of Split
Professor Stipan Jonjić, PhD – Board member
School of Medicine, University of Rijeka
Professor Pavao Rudan, PhD – Board member
Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts
Professor Ljiljana Marks, PhD – Board member
Institute of Ethnology and Folklore Research, Zagreb
Smiljana Goreta Ban, PhD – Board member
Institute for Adriatic Crops and Karst Reclamation, Split